Skip to content

Unpost III: The Generall Historie of Not Posting

April 11, 2012

I’m in month four of my little experiment. Last January I started this site, planning to post something every Monday (later pushed to Tuesday). So far, with one exception, I’ve managed to post every week (admittedly, a little late at times). Even though I made the deadlines, I haven’t been successful in everything I intended to do. Again I’m going to revise my self-imposed schedule.

I’m cutting back to bi-weekly postings for a few reasons. First: eight weeks from now (after intermittent enrollment  for seven years) I’m officially graduating from college. This takes a lot of time, and it’s not the kind of thing I want to mess up. Second: I don’t have time to write a variety of quality work on the current timetable. I originally intended to post fiction as well as essays, but to date I’ve only posted one short story. Short fiction takes substantially more time than short essays, and one week simply isn’t long enough. An essay is finished when the point is made, a story is finished when it feels like it. Finally, you may have noticed me getting a little wordy lately. My first drafts are usually around 150% the length I’m actually aiming for. I edit these down to the intended size, or rather, I would if I’ve left myself time to do so.

I’ll make a proper post of some sort next week, and begin the bi-weekly posts after that.

As a parting thought, I leave you with this quote from The Generall Historie of Virginia, written by Capt. John Smith. This is the John Smith from the Pocahontas story (which I’m sorry to tell you is almost entirely made up), and this quote will give you an idea for just how insane the guy actually was. It bears no relevance to anything, but I felt like I should give those who read this whole post something interesting for your effort. This is an  autobiographical account, so Smith is talking about himself in the third person.

Smith … had his two men slain (as is supposed) sleeping by the Canoe, whilst himself by fowling [bird hunting] sought them victual [food], who finding he was beset with 200. Savages, two of them he slew, still defending himself with the aid of a Savage his guide, whom he bound to his arm with his garters, and used him as a buckler, yet he was shot in his thigh a little, and had many arrows that stuck in his clothes but no great hurt, till at last they took him prisoner.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

