Skip to content

STAY OFF THE LAWN (THERE IS NO LAWN)

February 10, 2012

(Updated 2/10/2012)

First thing – I’ll be posting like normal on Tuesday.  The comics project was pushed back a week or two.

Last Thursday a new feature was added to my site, it’s called infinite scrolling.  It makes it so your site no longer has a front page, but an every page.  When you reach the end of a post, the post before it appears underneath it.  This process will continue until you run out of posts your browser crashes.  I can see how this would be nice for some sites.  For mine, it’s not.  It makes my two or three part posts display in reverse order.

I’ve deleted several ‘updates’ I posted relating to this.  They summarize like this:

Update #1: Sorry everyone, I think I broke my site.  Just ignore the post spam on the front page, sorry if it lags out your computer.

Update #2: WORDPRESS DID THIS ON PURPOSE.  I’M LEAVING.  I HOPE THEY DIE.

Update #3: Just a heads up everyone, I’m switching the theme and contin– oh.  Switching the theme deletes your header.  Now there’s… grass.  There’s grass on my homepage.

Ok, that pretty much gets us to now.  In my defense, #2 came right after I spent several hours trying to fix my site, only to discover that it was an intentional feature you can’t turn off.

I don’t plan to leave WordPress.  I’ve built up a small, but surprisingly diligent group of readers.  WordPress has a good track record where it counts; letting people say what they want to, and maintain the rights to what they say.  As long as that doesn’t change I’ll stomach the unwanted layout surprises.  Over the next few days I’ll be playing around with layout, and likely trying a few different themes.

Thanks for your patience.  Back to regularly scheduled programming…

No comments yet

Leave a comment